Skip to content

Swim, Work, Drink, Bike, Work, Eat, Run, Sleep…

September 6, 2010

I feel like that is my routine.  Wait, that IS my routine at least for another 9 weeks.  I know I haven’t posted in forever, and I apologize for being a bad CarboRocketeer but as things get closer, more of my anxieties will be shared.

What have I been up to?

Swimming ~ I started swimming at the gym pool in April and saw some progress but knew I that I was only fooling myself.  3 weeks ago I started a 10 week – 2x/week course with swimlv.com and boy has that been an eye-opener!  I’m so glad I’m taking these classes…it only confirmed how much I DIDN’T know and how hard I need to work to improve and become more efficient.  The coaches are extremely supportive and make me feel like I have a chance to finish the swim alive (even though I am the slowest in the group!)

Cycling ~ 3 weeks ago I was in Ventura, CA with my best friend for the Annual Cool Breeze Century trip.  The weather was perfect and I had a fantastic time.  It wasn’t my fastest century but with the other training I’ve been doing, I knew it wouldn’t.  My favorite part of the day was the afternoon stop at Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf in Carpenteria with about 20 miles to go for an Iced Americano with other Cool Breezers.  Otherwise, I’ve been working on hill training and today I rode part of the Silverman course ~ 22 miles and 1,700 feet of climbing including the dreaded ‘3 sisters’ (3 short hills that max out at 15-17% grade).  Next week, I’ll attack the beginning of the course then start putting it all together.

Running ~ I’m slow, that’s all there is to it.  And I don’t like it that much, so there…

Pictures from Cool Breeze 2010

Foggy Beginning

Top of the Mountain!

Pacific Ocean

Almost done!

One Comment leave one →
  1. brkeyes7 permalink
    September 15, 2010 7:07 am

    The Cool Breeze century sounds like a much better choice than the Freeze Breeze and Wheeze.

Leave a Reply

