Skip to content

Done! BC Bike Race 2010

July 8, 2010

I’m still traveling homeward, but I found a moment to stop and grab an Internet connection for a quick update.  I will post more when I get back into town or find Internet access as I try to finish up my offline notes.  I didn’t have a computer during the race and I can’t get to my photos yet.

I was reading my friend’s children’s book and found this quote in an unlikely place (From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler):

“The adventure is over.  Everything gets over, and nothing is ever enough.  Except the part you carry with you.  It’s the same as going on vacation.  Some people spend all their time on a vacation taking pictures so that when they get home they can show their friends evidence that they had a good time.  They don’t pause to let the vacation enter inside of them and take that home.”

I cannot thank Brad enough for encouraging me into this endeavour.   It was everything it could have been … difficult, unexpected, wondrous and triumphant.   I ended up (partially because I realized I was riding with the sweep motorcycle on Day 1) riding “only” the Challenge distance, which was shorter on 5 of the 7 days.  But it was all I could do and epic in its own right.  My first multi-stage race/ride, I climbed out of my mind it seemed — every day was a “new bike” day (you know, how you ride that first day on a new bike?)  and somehow my legs continued to propel me upwards.  I unhinged my mind and let my body go.  We are capable of far more than we know and in the company of new friends I found strength and companionship.

I learned it is one thing to push your body for one day, but for seven, really, eight days, takes everything.   I learned to portion strength and focus and fear, until you are so tired the fear even begins to lag and I rode bridges that had me whooping in accomplishment.   In the end I found that you can ride until you have to walk, and walk until you have to ride, and by constant forward motion — at times I thought of my ancestors, pioneers pushing across the US and Canada — you will reach your destination, both physically and within.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ChristyMcB permalink
    July 10, 2010 1:12 pm

    Jen ~ Congratulations! I can’t wait to hear the rest of your inspiring story. I can only imagine having to pull from the deep depths of yourself to continue moving forward. But you did it!! =)

    Is it too soon to ask…What’s next? 😉

    Well done!
    Christy

  2. Lisa S permalink
    July 13, 2010 11:07 am

    Congrats Jen! I sounds like it was a physical, mental, and spiritual journey!

    I can’t wait to hear more about it!

    Lisa

  3. Mary R permalink
    July 13, 2010 8:38 pm

    Way to go, Jen! I look forward to reading your tales of adventure. Must have been so beautiful there in the rarefied mountain air! Congratulations! –Mary

  4. brkeyes7 permalink
    August 17, 2010 6:00 pm

    Jen, you kick ass!

Leave a Reply

