Skip to content

Bike, Run, Yoga, Repeat

June 28, 2010

As the rest of the country celebrates summer, and the warmer temps that encourage riding, Arizona is headed into our “winter” months.

Winter?  During the summer months?   Yes.  While most folks experience 3 to 4 months of inclement weather during the winter, the citizens of Arizona are out ripping up trails, hiking, and enjoying the great outdoors.  Oh, we see the weather reports, and even talk about them.  Did you see?  4 feet of new snow in Denver!  60 straight days of rain in Seattle!  Brrrr, 10 below in Chicago!  All the while, we are planning rides, hikes and outdoor excursions in shorts and short sleeves.

Then it happens, the weather starts to warm up.  Fine for other parts of the country, but warm in Arizona is darn hot.  Once we hit triple digits during the month of June, we typically will not see double digit temps until the end of October.  That’s right, roughly 4 months of inclement weather during the summer months.  While we are hunkered down in our air conditioning, the rest of the country is out enjoying the warm weather.  While I am running on the treadmill in the cool confines of the gym, someone Boulder is getting in a great trail run.  While I am out riding at 5am to beat the heat, someone in Lake Tahoe is still sleeping, dreaming of the sweet single track they will be riding later that day.

Because of the weather, I find myself in a rhythm with my work outs – bike one day, run the next, with Yoga mixed in as well.  Then repeat.  Maybe for a little spice, I might add in a swim work out once or twice a week.  We are planning an escape to California in July – partially to get out of the heat, and partially to celebrate the Baseball All Star Game in Anaheim by running the All Star 5k Fun Run (my first organized 5k in 7 years!).  After that, it will be back to biking, running, and yoga for the duration of the summer.

I am looking forward to the cooler temps of fall, and the sprint triathalons I have on my calendar.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sheryl Sturgess permalink
    June 28, 2010 8:02 pm

    I think I’d like Arizona, I’m still taking a coat out with me at least once a week up here and apparently it is summer.

Leave a Reply

