Skip to content

Cross Training Disaster

June 23, 2010

Ok, so I’m exaggerating a little bit. Last weekend, I went to my favorite southern Arizona mountain biking town, Patagonia. On Saturday morning, instead of moutain biking, I joined local tennis amateurs on the courts for a little socializing and a little cross training. My first serve went in about 1 out of 10 times, but boy was it a doozy when it did! My shots improved as we played singles and doubles on the patched surface.

I serve, I hit an awesome baseline shot, then I’m on the ground, writhing in pain. My ankle had buckled outward on the patch of cement on the baseline. A major sprain. All play stopped, all rushed to my side. I felt nauseous. Todd, the high school tennis coach, produced a a frozen bottle of water and ace bandage. Wrapped and elevated on a bench in the shade–my left ankle and me. I enjoyed a piece of banana bread.

After about 20 minutes, I felt well enough to ride my bike back to my host’s house on the hill. The hill was hard on my sprain. I continued to ice all day , but my ankle continued to pain me and turn an amazing variety of unpleasant colors. I thought I could rally the next morning for an easy bike ride. But I woke up limping. So I watched some world cup soccer, drove back to Tucson, and continued to relax and recover for the rest of Sunday.

My ankle remains swollen, but has returned to a normal flesh color. I’m icing and elevating and getting jittery from inactivity. Tomorrow, I will finally join the YMCA so I can start swimming. A fall triathlon is in my future. Preferably sprint style, preferably with pool swim.

Because there’s nothing like an injury to make me want to train more.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 10:46 am

    Bummer about the ankle, but sometimes forced rest is what we need to remind us why we exercise! Good luck getting back on track!

  2. Sheryl Sturgess permalink
    June 23, 2010 8:10 pm

    I hope it heals quickly.

    Sprint tri’s are pretty awesome. I did my first one last Sunday.

  3. christymcb permalink
    June 23, 2010 9:43 pm

    Mary, I know you’ll be pedaling again in no time. Injuries are no fun, heal fast.

    Sheyl, how was the Tri??

Leave a Reply

