Skip to content

Epic in Pieces: Biking the De Anza Trail

June 11, 2010

The Juan Bautista de Anza National Historic Trail runs from Nogales, AZ, to San Francisco, CA. De Anza forged this trail in 1776, leading almost 300 people across the deserts of Arizona and California to start European settlements in northern California. My 75-mile bicycle epic will follow his journey between Nogales and Tucson using built and unbuilt trail and portions of the De Anza “auto tour.” The Santa Cruz River will be my dry companion. Every week, I will ride a little or a lot. If enthused, I will extend my journey with De Anza north toward the Gila River, then west to the mighty Colorado River.

Enough history, let’s ride!

For more pictures, go to Clock Out, Click In

Faded sign tells me I'm on the De Anza Trail.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

