Skip to content

Celebrating 100 degrees

June 4, 2010

High temps above 100 forecasted for the next 7 days, so it seemed like a good day to start riding my bike to work again. It was a balmy 72 on this morning’s 19-mile ride with a slight head wind, looking forward to a tail wind this afternoon. I predict that the wind “chill” factor will reduce the perceived temperature from 100 to 95. Yes, that’s Arizona living!

Local Tucson forecast and helpful heat survival tips. Egad, 107 on Sunday! I realize that I will get limited sympathy from teammates in Las Vegas and Surprise.

Planning 2 or 3 days of bike commuting next week, to begin my “Epic in Pieces” Summer 2010 adventure! Details to come.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa S permalink
    June 4, 2010 10:40 am

    Woot woot! Here’s to 110 this weekend in PHX! Got a ride in before work this morning, no need for a vest or arm warmers – good thing I enjoy mornings. Stay cool, can’t wait to hear more about your Epic in Pieces Summer Adevnture! 🙂 Have a great weekend – L

  2. Brett Ringger permalink
    June 6, 2010 11:35 am

    Ugh…107 heat index here in North Texas today. Honestly, I don’t know how you Arizoniacs do it.

  3. Marycycle permalink
    June 6, 2010 4:33 pm

    Just about DIED on the way home Friday afternoon, wicked headwind, forgot my bottle of CarboRocket in refrigerator at work, drank warm water all the way home, 1 hour and 20 minutes later I was shaking and sweating in my kitchen mixing and downing a quart of CR. Thank goodness for CR, AC, and cold showers!

  4. christymcb permalink
    June 6, 2010 8:24 pm

    We hit 110 today in LV. I made the mistake yesterday of going out for a run at 8:3oam – let’s say I won’t do that again. Today I was a little smarter, but when it was 90 degrees at 6:30am, I didn’t feel much better. Needless to say, the CR during the ride was awesome and the iced Americano’s afterwards (I had two) were incredible! Hope this isn’t a sign of how the rest of the summer is going to be.

Leave a Reply

