Skip to content

My Top 3 Most Embarrassing Sports Moments: #3, Part I

May 12, 2010

Or is it number two?  One?  They all involve an impressive level of humiliation.  All of them the worst type of stupid:  completely preventable, and my own damn fault.  I am a fool confident guy, generally overestimating my ability to pull off most tasks through sheer wit and strength in lieu of training.  I also lack a certain je nes sais quoi regarding observation…and paying attention.  The sum total of these traits is oft success with a once-in-a-blue-moon moronic catastrophe**, pregnant with irony and downward peg-knocking.

Let me remind you that the story that follows, as well as those occupying second and first place are but the top three. And sports-related embarrassment only. Examples of other, non-sports type idiocy abound.  I have enough doofus material that when choosing the top three, I could easily bias two of them to involve cycling–one of them nearly ending in my demise in “Darwin Awards” fashion.  Yep.

Number Three

This Saturday I plan to race a flying 200TT followed by match sprints at the Superdrome velodrome in Frisco, Texas.  My fixed-gear bike is a super-cheapo I bought from Bikes Direct a few years ago.  I justified this purchase by calculating that the bike would pay for itself with roughly twenty bike rentals from the Superdrome’s bike barn.  I have since found it a great training bike when ridden with brake attached and rear wheel flipped from fixed to freewheel.

The first to correctly guess the cause of this dent in the top tube guesses #3 and wins a free Austin College* T-shirt in the size of your choosing.  Post guesses in comments and I will reveal the winner and my third-most embarrassing sports moment next week.

??? What Happened ???

*Thanks to Austin College for allowing me to use their asphalt running track for my 100 miles of nowhere.  Note the huge cross-promotional “t-shirt” event.

**If I adhere to the Farmer’s Almanac definition of a blue moon occurring as the third full moon in a season of four moons, then my next embarrassing sports-related event should occur on or around November 21st of this year, which will put it at roughly 2.5 years since the most recent tragedy, that I am writing about today.  Scary.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. christymcb permalink
    May 15, 2010 9:49 am

    A garage door shutting on the bike?

    Good luck with the race this weekend!

  2. Brett Ringger permalink
    May 17, 2010 7:29 am

    Nope! Much more stupid and public.

    And thanks! I made it but I am pretty sore this am.

Leave a Reply

