Skip to content

Next?

May 5, 2010

Today I thought I would share a few “action” photos from my off-road triathlon a couple of weeks ago and then focus on what is next on my race calendar.  I had to post the following picture of me finishing the swim because this is the only picture (thankfully) the photographer took of me in the swim portion.  See me?  I’m in the bottom corner.  You can see about half of my head.  Of the athlete in front of me, in the pink swimsuit, there are no less than fourteen photos of her as she exits the pool.  I’ll let you guess the gender of the photographer.

Here is me attempting to look “athletical” near the end of the trail on the bike.  That’s my game face.  It was extremely muddy, and I just finished a slog through fifty yards of mud.  Wrongly, the parks department thought it would help to dry out the trail to lay down wood chips.  Exactly one bottle of CarboRocket was just right for this sprint distance tri.  No goopy spit–me happy.

Hammer!

Next

So what lies ahead on my race calendar?  This Sunday being Mother’s Day…absolutely nothing.  I will be watching children and giving my wife a “momcation day” away from us.  She loves us, but it is good for her sanity to spend an evening in a hotel without the demands of four three kids (and me) once in a while. 

Next week, however, I will be “competing” in Fatty’s 100 Miles of Nowhere.  I am trying to secure permission to use the running track encircling the football field at Austin College, here in Sherman (go ‘Roos!).  400 laps should be about right.  If I don’t go insane.  Did I mention that I have never completed a century?  Or that I washed the iPod that I inadvertently left in my jersey pocket?  This is the longest “race” I have ever ridden, and I’m tentatively scheduling it for a week from Sunday.

A week from Saturday, I plan on racing the shortest race I have ever raced, a flying 200, at the Superdrome velodrome in Frisco, TX.  I am blessed with having a wood 250M track, one of like four in the nation, but thirty minutes from my house.  I am certified on the track (and certifyable otherwise), but have never raced.  I have not been on the track yet this year, so it might behoove me to go out and practice.  We’ll see what life brings next week.  It is so far away.

I think bookending the shortest and longest races I have ever ridden in back-to-back days is just good cycling karma.  Or is it a dumb idea?  Probably.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 1:44 pm

    Lisa and I are doing the 100 Miles of Nowhere together on a 3-mile loop. And Christy McB is also doing it somewhere in Las Vegas. And we’ll all be riding in the heat of the early western summer. So when you’re about to lose your mind on your 357th lap, think of your teammates all riding with you! To survive 100 miles: be sure to use chamois cream and change your hand position on your handlebars frequently. Fresh socks mid-ride are nice too. PS: no cycling idea is ever dumb.

    • Brett Ringger permalink
      May 5, 2010 2:39 pm

      Awesome. I will! Advice well-taken.

  2. Robin permalink
    May 5, 2010 2:28 pm

    Brett, I’m doing my first ever century for the 100 MoN too, however, unlike you I’ve never ridden more than 20 miles in one day. Ever. Period. Lucky for me I have the pleasure of riding with ChristyMcB around our 3 mile loop this Sunday. She’s really good at telling me stories to keep me going, so I’m sure I’ll be successful in completing 33 1/3 loops!

    Mary, thanks for the hints… I didn’t think about fresh socks, that’s a great idea!

    • Brett Ringger permalink
      May 5, 2010 6:37 pm

      Christy will keep you going! I look forward to updates of your adventure!

  3. christymcb permalink
    May 5, 2010 9:43 pm

    This is one of 3 centuries I’m excited to ride this year. First was earlier this year in Death Valley and the third is Cool Breeze in August in Ventura, CA.

    Robin, we are going to have soooo much fun…and I have loads of stories to keep us going. 🙂

    Team CarboRocket is going to be represented well!! Hopefully no one will get too dizzy riding in circles.

  4. May 6, 2010 8:40 am

    Woot woot! Team CarboRocket is going to ROCK the 100 Miles to Nowhere this year! Hopefully the weather will stay somewhat cool, and the wind will stay away! I am looking forward to hearing from everyone how it goes.

Leave a Reply

