Skip to content

Warrior Dash 2010: The Anti-Race

May 3, 2010

Well, as a tribute to Elden (The Fat Cyclist) and his IronFatty push for glory, I donned a Team Fatty T shirt and embarked on Warrior Dash 2010.  Here’s a picture of me before my wave started:

So fit. So handsome. So clean.

I don’t have race results and action photos yet, but rest assured I will publish a full race report as soon as I do.  Indeed, common to all 3.5 mile trail/adventure races, there were plenty of serious, skinny athletes competing for the podium.  However, by sprinkling in live bands, beer, deep mud, and a best-costume contest, plenty of “regular people” participated, if indeed that’s what you wish to call them.  One team of men wore full-length hot-pink lycra bodysuits.  

Perhaps you’ll remember this dress that Björk [note–another gratuitous “umlaut” usage–Author] wore to the Academy Awards in 2001:

Goose? Swan? Stork?

Now, picture it on a guy.  Over six-foot-five.  Over three hundred pounds. 

You just can’t picture such a monstrosity?  Here you go:

Some people can pull off any look.

 (By the way, I beat that guy.)

There are very few times in adult life where it is okay, nay required to be covered in mud from head to toe.  Needless to say, I had a blast.

Congratualtions to our sponsor, Elden and his wife Lisa as they demonstrated how human will can transcend weakness and fatigue, finishing what many consider the penultimate of physical challenges.  Kind of like me:

Sacrifice. Focus. Toughness.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 12:24 pm

    Where is the fire leaping picture?? 🙂

    • Brett Ringger permalink
      May 3, 2010 12:35 pm

      I have one that my wife got and hopefully an even sillier one by the photographer. I will post it soon! 😉

  2. Sheryl permalink
    May 3, 2010 2:48 pm

    It looks like an awesome day. My running buddy just convinced me to sign up for an adventure race or two.

Leave a Reply

