Skip to content

Saskatoon Bridge City Duathlon

April 24, 2010

Well, I just completed my first race for the year. I wasn’t sure if I racing or doing a long ride would be better this weekend. In the end I went with racing.

All week in Saskatoon it was 20 something and really very pleasant, Thursday night temperatures started to drop and it was marginally above freezing Saturday morning. Not exactly perfect racing conditions, and there was likely to be strong winds most of the morning. I’ve never done a duathlon before 3km run, 20km bike followed by a 3km run, but I’d never done a duathlon before – I had no idea what I’d need. I decided on my biking attire and my running shoes.

I was hoping for a sub 1:30 race, I was expecting about 20 mins for each run and hoping for less than 1hr for the 20km bike ride. I started the race running with my training partner, her mother and her brother. We lasted about 3 mins then my training partner and I started to up the pace and still we ended up being the 3rd and 2nd last people into transition. We managed to overtake two people in transition and we headed out onto the bike course just as the wind started to pick up, it was three laps of the bike course, I managed to hold off getting lapped by the lead guy for about half a lap, but as he was over taking me I was slowly overtaking other people.

As I headed back into transition I was feeling pretty good – it was only a 20km ride (I’ve been doing 50’s most Saturdays) and put my shoes on for the last run. I’d been obeying the no drafting rule so I’ve dropped my running buddy. She managed to catch me about 900m into the run. I’m going to have to work on that some more.

In the end I did a 1:26:58 race, with negative splits on my runs. I am pumped with that result – and very surprisingly I came in first in my age group – I’m not too sure how that happened but I’ll take it and celebrate.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. brkeyes7 permalink
    April 25, 2010 7:04 am

    Congrats on a great a race! “…20 something and really very pleasant” I will never complain about the cold again.

  2. christymcb permalink
    April 25, 2010 7:05 am

    Congratulations!!

  3. Lisa S permalink
    April 25, 2010 7:17 am

    Way to go! 🙂

  4. DavidV permalink
    April 25, 2010 8:23 am

    Brad,

    “20 something and very pleasant” is in celcius. So that’s about 70ish F.

    Congrats on the 1 place in your age group and the negative splits! A great result for the last race of the year, let alone the first race.

  5. Sheryl Sturgess permalink
    April 25, 2010 9:15 am

    I keep forgetting not everyone uses Celcius.

    It is back down below 0, which should make good training conditions for my long run today.

  6. Mary R permalink
    April 25, 2010 8:20 pm

    Awesome race! Way to work the transitions, too! Congratulations, Sheryl on a great start to your season.

  7. Lisa permalink
    April 26, 2010 8:39 am

    Sheryl’s running buddy here: What she didn’t mention is that 30 seconds into the biking portion she started pulling away and I kept falling further and further behind – great job on her part! My fear that all the licorice would be gone when we finished motivated me to catch up on the run 🙂
    Fantastic first race of the season! I’m looking forward to our next one.

Leave a Reply

