Skip to content

My face is frozen in a smile

April 23, 2010

It could also be considered to be a rictus grin, but more on that in a moment.

Today is probably the 2nd greatest day I’ve had this year.  I’d claim it was the greatest day, but on the off chance that my finacee reads this, or someone who knows my fiancee, or met her once at a retreat and remembers her phone number – the day she said “yes” is still the greatest day of this year.

But today is close.

Why is today so great you ask?  Because today was my first ride outdoors this year.  Despite picking up a few inches of snow yesterday (it melted off pretty fast), I braved the trails to ride in to work today.  It’s only a five miler, but it felt so amazing to be out and actually riding.

Of course, that isn’t the only reason my face is stuck like this.  It was also about 35 degrees out this morning – which led to another small obstacle on my ride.  Black ice.

Now, normally I can brave some slush and snow, but this stuff was treacherous.  First, all the slush was frozen from the night before.  So instead of just pushing though it, I had to navigate it like it was single track.  Second, just when you thought you were clear, you’d feel the bike slip as you hit some black ice. 

Fortunately, my ability to hold onto my bike with a clenched butt remains strong.

This afternoon should be amazing.  The sun is shining in full force, and I think I can actually get a full on ride in if I stick to the back streets instead of the shaded trails in.

HELLOOOO SPRING!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. brkeyes7 permalink
    April 25, 2010 7:07 am

    Glad you finally made it outside but I think your version of Spring is a little warped. I don’t declare Spring until I can ride without knee warmers.

Leave a Reply

