Skip to content

Why I’m not a bike mechanic

April 19, 2010

One of my bikes, my beloved Kona Dew Deluxe, developed a small problem last year around this time.  For whatever reason, I couldn’t mount the front wheel properly – as the disc wouldn’t slide into the brake groove.  Since I have a wide selection of bikes to choose from, I wound up just hanging up the Kona and riding my mountain bike until the trails were clean enough to get the road bikes out.

So this year, shockingly, I hadn’t fixed the Kona and I really wanted to get riding.  So I went to my LBS with the bike, expecting to shell out some cash for a new set of brakes.  Fortunately, my LBS isn’t run by shysters, so the mechanic just reached down and slid the cable back into the housing (the little metal piece had slipped out of the brake – so it couldn’t open all the way).

Yeah, I felt dumb.

Leaving in their capable hands to get tuned, and to fix the tension on the brakes as I had that six different kinds of screwed up trying to fix it myself.  This Saturday – my first real ride – and I don’t care if it is snowing out, I got some studs at REI in a post winter clearance.

Here’s looking to Saturday, and realizing that there’s a reason I quit being a car mechanic ten years ago.

One Comment leave one →
  1. brkeyes7 permalink
    April 20, 2010 6:44 pm

    I can’t tell you how much money I’ve spent having the professional fix my screw up of a mechanic job. I’ve learned my lesson, take it to the pros.

Leave a Reply

