Skip to content

PB by 1.5 hours!

April 19, 2010

Last year I did my first race.  Paris to Ancaster, a 60km mountain bike race.  Last year it did not go well.  I finished 1201 out of 1204.  I’ve since justified this bad result by taking solace in the fact that many people didn’t make the time cut off.  There were three big problems last year:

1)  I was not in good shape

2) I was riding a mountain bike with 2 inch tires

3) There was a terrible headwind.

This year that was going to change.  I rode all winter watching Spinervals (Hi “Coach Troy”), I got a Ibis Hakkalügi, the beautiful cross bike.  The concern was weather.  It was scheduled to rain most of the day, which I was not looking forward too.

Nevertheless, I showed up, wearing my Team CarboRocket jersey, under a cycling jacket and a winter gortex jacket. As the start time approached, the weather cleared and we were good the entire day.  1/4 of the way through the race, I switched my winter gloves for long finger gloves.  3/4 of the way through the race I took off my cycling toque.

The course was fast.  There were two major mud sections, one lovingly called the “Mud Slide”.  My friend Wes’ bike looked like this after the race: 

There is a killer steep hill at the end of the race.  I didn’t see anyone riding it (I’m sure the faster people did), but at the top of the hill the MC of the race was ‘interviewing’ people.  He’d ask “how’s it going” and the usual response was just hard breathing and a grunt.  But he asked me why I was limping.  So I said I only had one leg, and he said that I won the one-legged division.  That’s great I said, but I wanted a prize.

I didn’t get a prize, but I ended up finishing the race in 3h 43′ 44″, which was almost an hour and a half faster than last year.

Now my season is done until September and ‘Cross season starts.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:21 pm

    Wow — that’s an awesome improvement. Congrats on proper planning and execution! So was the course better on a cross bike than a mountain bike? It sounds like a very neat event.

  2. dvisschedyk permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:45 pm

    I think bike choice is dependent upon weather. If it would have rained, it would have been a mountain bike course. When it’s dry, it is a cross bike course.

  3. brkeyes7 permalink
    April 20, 2010 6:41 pm

    Dude, first of all congrats on shaving some serious time off last year. 2nd of all, no way is your season over til September! After that awesome race and improved time you really need to find some other races to do. I’m going to look into it and get a few more on your calendar. Any pics of you in the jersey and or on the Ibis? Rock on!

  4. dvisschedyk permalink
    April 21, 2010 8:08 am

    I’m sure there will be some good photos done at the race, but they haven’t been posted yet.

    I’m all for spreading the Team CarboRocket name around at races, I’ll take a look around.

Leave a Reply

