Skip to content

Baby steps…

April 17, 2010

I made a deal with a friend a few months ago that I would start training for the swim portion of the Tri mid-April.  It seemed like a long enough timeframe that I would be mentally prepared to start training for my weakest of the 3 events…come to think of it, I don’t think I would have EVER been mentally prepared for swimming, so the deal was probably the best way to go.  Looking back, I should have started swimming, or at least dabbled my toes in the water, when we talked about the swim training because that thought has haunted me daily…until today.

Today was the day…the only goal I had was to go to the gym after my bike ride, change into swimsuit and spend at least 15 minutes in the pool doing some training drills.  Baby steps.  Mission:  Get that first swim out of the way.

Much to my dismay, bad timing had us (I was with Team CarboRocket Lite member Robin) arriving at the pool at the start of a swim aerobics class!  Clearly NOT what I had in mind.  After some contemplation, we decided to take the class…baby steps…then maybe swim some laps afterwards.  Before I knew it class was done and it was time for laps.  By the time I got out of the water I had done swim aerobics for an hour PLUS 30 minutes of lap swimming/drills!   

And you know what?  It wasn’t the most HORRIBLE thing I had built up in my mind.  I wouldn’t go so far to say it was FUN either, but not horrible is a pretty good start.  Do I have a lot to learn?  Yes!  Do I have the stamina to swim x-number of laps non-stop?  No!  Will I be back swimming on Monday with a better outlook?  Maybe.

Baby steps…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. brkeyes7 permalink
    April 20, 2010 6:50 pm

    Just starting is far and away the hardest thing you can do when it comes to swimming, biking, running, training, whateve. Can you actually think of a time when you regretted a swim a bike a run a workout? No! I always have to think about that or I would never start anything some mornings.

    • ChristyMcB permalink
      April 20, 2010 10:17 pm

      So true! You hit the nail on the head.

Leave a Reply

