Skip to content

Final Countdown to Arizona Trail 300

April 16, 2010

I face the final week before the AZT300 with two concerns: purchasing a pocket knife and getting my new GPS unit to work. Low tech and high tech concerns aside, I feel very well-prepared. Tomorrow I will check out a northern section of the course, then I will have pre-ridden almost 200 of the race’s 300 miles. I’ve got most of my gear squared away thanks to advice from an AZT300 veteran, and I even practiced minimalist camping last night.

I also have luck on my side. When I went to the local outdoor store for a rock-climbing travel presentation, I won a lightweight Mountain Hardware sleeping bag in the raffle!

Water shouldn’t be an issue, with spring rains and snow melt keeping the streams running, plus assorted faucets along the way. The weather forecast seems decent, with only “showers” predicted on the first day. That may change, so I will keep an eye on the weather.

Next week I will eat and eat and eat. I predict that I will lose five pounds during the four to five day event, so I’d like to start with a couple pounds extra. Lest you think I’m exaggerating, I lost five pounds when I ran a marathon and it wasn’t water weight.

After tomorrow’s 50-mile trail ride, I’ll be resting, maybe commute to work a couple days to keep my legs fresh.

I hope everyone goes on great rides this weekend!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Brett Ringger permalink
    April 16, 2010 8:10 pm

    Awesome, Mary–epic! You’ll do great.

  2. Lisa Serao permalink
    April 16, 2010 8:31 pm

    Mary, you inspire me! I was just sitting here (in my hotel room) pissy that I have to be up and out by 6 for a 7am ride start. Sleeping under the stars, by yourself puts a lot of things in perspective! I will be sending you good vibes your entire ride!

  3. christymcb permalink
    April 17, 2010 4:05 pm

    Mary, I’m so excited for you and your adventure! You sound super prepared and in the right frame of mind. You’re going to do great…just remember you have your whole team rooting for you!!

  4. marycycle permalink
    April 18, 2010 12:37 pm

    Thanks everyone for the good wishes! I had an awesome ride Saturday on the AZTrail–wildflowers everywhere, hillsides blanketed in yellow and orange poppies and purple lupin along the trail. It was good for me to ride in the heat–and realize that as heavy as water is, I really need it. I’m also skilled in finding shady spots beneath scrawny trees. I’m so excited, can’t wait for Friday!

  5. brkeyes7 permalink
    April 20, 2010 6:52 pm

    I’m jealous. I’ve always wanted to do an overnight bike packing type race but until I get over being afraid of the boogie monster I don’t think it will happen. Looking forward to the report and best of luck out there!

Leave a Reply

