Skip to content

Sea Otter Bound!

April 13, 2010

The Jeep is packed, bikes are loaded on to the back, and Monterey is our destination!  Yes, that’s right, we are headed to the Sea Otter Classic  – a head spinning 4 days of everything bikes.  There are tons of races to be had, including road racing, four cross, trials,  cross country and downhill.  There is also a HUGE expo area to check out the latest and greatest from the bike industry.

The Sea Otter has a special place in my heart – it is the first Cross Country race I ever tried.  I think I came in 12th in my class that first race.  The course is fast and flowy, with a mix of technical (read sandy) climbs, as well as a long 2 mile fire road climb that comes at the end.  Part of me wants to do the race, just for fun, and part of me wants to hold off until I have lost more weight.  My plans for now include pre-riding the course with a good friend and see how I feel.  Worse case scenario, I will be riding the 45 mile Gran Fondo.

I’ll try to blog some updates through the weekend with pictures, and will for sure be tweeting as well (follow me @ cyclechick_az)!  Hope the rain holds off, and we have 4 beautiful days of sunshine and bikes!

One Comment leave one →
  1. brkeyes7 permalink
    April 20, 2010 6:54 pm

    Report, report, report! I demand a report! You know, since I stayed home and slept and ate and drank and lazed about I need to live vicariously through someone.

Leave a Reply

