Skip to content

TheSinlespeed69’erLives!

April 12, 2010

Well, I would have posted a little sooner regarding my singlespeed 69’er build, but my two-year-old son/household terrorist removed 15 keys from my laptop last week while Mommy was in the shower.  Many were able to be replaced.  Except the “Sys Rq” key for which I have no clue as to its function.  Or “G”.  But how often is G used anyway?  (Forget that my last name has two).  Or the “space bar”–okay, I miss that one.  “M” and “.” have to be pressed like three times as hard.  The title of today’s post was written with that machine.  So posting is being done with my office desktop.

The Bike

Despite time spent trying to salvage my six-year-old laptop, I was able to finish my build.  Here she be:

Fully Rigid Singlespeed 69'er

Special thanks to Ritchey Components for the keen white accents and new saddle.  I made a custom singlespeed crankset by taking one Shimano LX crankset and replacing the middle chainring with a 32T Mono Veloce ring by Blackspire.  I removed the granny and replaced the large chainring with an MRP Basher bashguard.  I’m running the bike fully rigid with 29’er carbon fork up front with Avid BB7 disc brake and V-brake in the rear.  The Fetish Cycles frame has track-style dropouts that makes chain tensioning  simple with a Surly Tuggnut, although there is a derailleur hanger also if I become so inclined.  For extra bad-assness, I just had to add these skull cable guides by Dirty Dog MTB:

So Awesome in their Awesomeness.

(Note also CR logo placement.)  If you look really close, they appear more ape or cro-magnon than human skulls.  I am a bit of a meathead, though, so it works for me.

The Ride

I had not ridden a fully rigid MTB in so long I forgot just how much suspension really does sap one’s climbing ability.  I felt rather like a mountain goat on the trail.  The balance somehow felt awesome when climbing out of the saddle.  I was quite surprised about not missing the 26 other speeds I normally rifle through and found myself riding a lot faster to boot.  With a relatively tall front end, I naturally hung further back over the rear wheel on descents, allowing that big ol’ front wheel just to roll on  through what I usually depend on three or so inches of travel to soak up.  In a nutshell, it is great fun!  It will be fast and awesome for less-technical courses on my race schedule.  Will I give up my old FSR?  No on three counts:

  1. My wrists and butt remember why suspension is a nice invention.
  2. At the end of the season, the SS will be raffled via the web site to help raise money for Vision for India–my purpose for being on Team Carbo Rocket!  Stay tuned: you could win it, and perhaps another awesome ride in a few short months!
  3. The old girl will get jealous:

    Don't Send Me Out to Pasture!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dvisschedyk permalink
    April 13, 2010 1:19 pm

    What’s the advantage of the bigger wheel in the front? A little faster over logs and such?

    • Brett Ringger permalink
      April 13, 2010 2:09 pm

      Exactly. Larger front wheel has more momentum and advantage when rolling over obstacles such as logs, rocks, roots, etc. The complaint of a full 29’er with a 29″ wheel in the rear is that it takes longer to wind up and get rolling. I think for fully rigid such as this a 69’er setup works really nice. It is still very quick and yet descends well.

  2. brkeyes7 permalink
    April 20, 2010 6:56 pm

    That is totally what I’m going to build with an Ibis Tranny. Looks fast just sitting there. I’ve had a 69’er before and have missed since the day I sold it.

Leave a Reply

