Skip to content

Starting at the bottom

March 31, 2010

A couple of weeks ago my legs just quit and they’ve been hurting like nuts ever since.  I’ve always had some recovery issues but I haven’t blow up like this since 2005 when I was a newbie rider.  Piece by piece it seemed like everything fell apart.   It’s can be pretty hard to hold everything together in times like these.  You worry about your family, job, health.  Then you worry about worrying too much.     So what can you do?  You can make some doctor appointments, you can look at your calendar and think “yes, in 3 months I’m riding my mtb for a whole week in British Columbia”.  I will do this, I can do this.

I wasn’t sure what to write since I’m pretty sure I should be on my bike.  I’ll let you know how this goes. As many of us who have come from the fatcyclist side of the house, we probably have seen cancer up too close and know someone who inspired them.  For me that was my friend Susie.   She taught me so much although I still have much to learn.

Sometimes you wish for a pithy and funny entry, but I’m not feeling it right now.   I felt like it was about time to post.  I am thrilled to be in this group of people.    It is good to be not alone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    March 31, 2010 8:34 pm

    Glad to hear from you. I don’t think you should feel any pressure to be funny or to be anything really. We are here to help and if ur having a day that isn’t the greatest I think this is the best place to be. We all have down times, ur never alone! Good luck and anytime u need support that’s what we are here for..

  2. DavidV permalink
    April 1, 2010 6:14 am

    Jen,

    Be careful not to overtrain. When your body says it’s enough, you take a break and come back strong when you’re up to it. I will say it’s amazing how the chemistry in your body changes when you work out. I always detest getting on the trainer to start a workout, but I always feel pretty great (if I did it right, I’m also exhausted) when I’m done.

    Keep up the good work and remember the motto of my hockey team “Win or lose…drink the booze”. That will keep you in good spirits in BC! 🙂

Leave a Reply

