Skip to content

I said I was sorry, can we call it even now?

March 25, 2010

This past Saturday was one of those perfect days – sunny, mid-70’s, no wind – just amazing for the desert.  It was so nice I decided to sleep in then take a late morning solo ride on my single speed.  It’s a silver Specialized Langster that I bought several years ago to ride to work.  The change of pace would be fun since I hadn’t ridden ‘Silver’ in, well, over a year.

Yes, I felt guilty as I took her off the storage hook, dusted her off and pumped up the nearly flat tires but she cleaned up nicely and before I knew it we were off on our adventure.  Everything was great until I had that strange feeling something was wrong with the road pavement…then I looked and realized it wasn’t the road!  You guessed it, I was 2 1/4 miles from home and I realized I had the beginning of a flat rear tire.  I’m guessing she was a little more upset than I thought for ignoring her for over a year, all bikes have a personality, don’t they?

Now, pulled over on the side of the road, I break out the flat pack:  tube – check; pump – check; wrench – check; rider that knows how to change a SS rear tire – ummm (insert buzzer sound).  In my poor excuse of a defense, it’s not that I don’t know how to change a tire, I had never practiced on this bike and know there’s some skill in making sure the chain tension is right, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Ok, now it’s choice time, do I:

A) Call my husband for a ride – and admit defeat…NEVER!

B) Figure it out and risk not doing it right – and hope Silver isn’t still spiteful

C) Instant brick workout – I am training for a triathlon after all!

Option C it was as I ended my workout with a brisk walk home.  In the end, I’m sure deep down in her aluminum frame, ‘Silver’ was happy with her plot of revenge and that I’ve learned my lesson…I sure did!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

