Skip to content

Perseverance vs. the “Slippery Slope”

March 22, 2010

I had nothing but the best of intentions over the weekend.  Go to yoga on Saturday morning, get in a killer 4 mile hike Saturday afternoon, and spend at least 2 hours on the bike on Sunday.  Oh yeah, my plans also included sticking to my healthy eating habits during the weekend.

Somewhere along the way, things started to go awry.  I made it to yoga, and had an awesome class; although I tweaked my knee a little bit.  Nothing major, just enough for my right knee to be slightly stiff and sore.  My hiking buddy suggested that we skip the hike, and of course, since my knee was achy, I readily agreed.  This is where the “Slope” starts taunting me.

I could have chosen to take a walk, or maybe even to go for a short ride to loosen up my knee.  But why do any of that?!  My sore knee was like a “get the rest of the day off free” card.  Heck since I was skipping the hike, I might as well go to lunch, and while at lunch, instead of ordering a turkey sandwich, I might as well go for the sliders – add cheese please!  I refer to this thought process as the “Slippery Slope”.

The “Slope” leads to frustration (as in, I can’t believe I am sabotaging my goals!), general self loathing (as in, I will never achieve my goals!), and can lead to further slippage down the “Slope” (what the heck, today is already shot, I can pick back up tomorrow!).

Luckily for me, I was able to shake off the “Slope”, and get back on track with a healthy dinner on Saturday night.  I followed that up with a 2.5 hour mountain bike ride and making healthy eating choices on Sunday.  Ha! Take that “Slope”!

The “Slope” will always be there, lurking, leering at me, and waiting for me to join in.  I try to keep “Slope Slippage” in perspective to the big picture.  There is a quote that I currently have on the white board in my office:  “In the realm of ideas, everything depends on enthusiasm.  In the real world, all rests on perseverance” – Goethe. This year, it is an all out battle between “Perseverance” and the “Slope”.  So far, “Perseverance” is kicking some butt and taking names!

Thanks for following along!

Lisa S.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brett Ringger permalink
    March 22, 2010 7:24 pm

    Good post! Around Easter time I have special trouble with Cadbury Creme Eggs. Especially when they are on sale for 30c apiece as opposed to 50c. (It is an utter shame that I know the economics of gooey, creme-filled chocolate eggs). Stinking slope.

  2. March 22, 2010 11:09 pm

    Yeah! Kick that “slopes” butt. I know the feeling though … my slope snuck up on me at brunch on Sunday. I had been hesitant to go all weekend, afraid that temptation might beat me, but managed to make some okay choices and leave some on the plate.

  3. Karen permalink
    March 23, 2010 10:46 am

    I wish my slope had food on it. I’m still feeling the effects of novicane in the form of a bruised jaw muscle. My food choices are limited to small soft substances, which means alot of juice and egg whites. I’m glad your knee feels better…….happy biking.

Leave a Reply

