Skip to content

Spring in Texas: 4″ of Blowing Snow?!?

March 21, 2010

My alarm sounded at 5:00 this morning.  The little “email light” was blinking on my cell phone…”please, please, please,” I thought as I checked the inbox.  I read “DIRTY ROCK TRI POSTPONED…” as the subject, and immediately sighed with relief, rolled over and went back to sleep.  I often have trouble sleeping the night before a race, and was filled with extra anxiety for this one.  As the snow came down harder and harder last night, I kept worrying about my body.  Specifically the area between my thighs and waist.  This is the area covered by my “tri shorts”.  For those maybe not particularly versed in triathlon, tri shorts are like bike shorts with a very thin chamois pad.  They double as a swimsuit and triple as running shorts.  They chafe less and work really well, and even function to help keep you cool.  This last feature is what I was particularly fearful of.  Could I change into warmer clothes?  Yes, but my fear by being naked in a parking lot, changing in transition trumps my fear of wet cold.

Damp lycra the only barrier between me and 20 degrees of wind chill.  I was planning of course to wear my leg warmers, no problem there.  I had set out two long-sleeve jerseys and a light element-proof windbreaker to cover my upper body, and had even found a “hat band” to protect my ears.  I was trying to pre-feel how sitting, walking, and other functions would feel with a frost-bitten central area.  My Dad, ever the practical one, suggested, “Perhaps it would be worth your entry fee to stay warm at home.”  That it would.  But I’m just not programmed that way.  I would be dumb enough to do this thing if the race organizers were dumb enough not to stop me.  The email continued that the race was postponed “…for athlete and volunteer safety…”  In other words, they are trying to save me from myself.

When I woke up at 8:00, here’s what I saw:

4" and still flurrying!

In a couple of days I will have the rescheduled date for the tri.  The forecasted high for Tuesday is 70 degrees.  Much better!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DavidV permalink
    March 22, 2010 6:17 am

    I was out riding this weekend this weekend and it was +1 or +2 (34-36 for the Americans reading this) and I was thinking about Brett and the weather down in Texas. I’m glad that it got cancelled for you, I think to be on this team you have to have that mindset that you’d do it because it’s there.

    The swim might have been easy if you could have run on the ice though…

  2. Brett Ringger permalink
    March 22, 2010 7:45 am

    I’m from the midwest originally, but after living in Texas and Oklahoma for the past 20 years, my blood has gotten very thin. I was relieved that it was rescheduled, but also a little disappointed because if the weather scared away a lot of competitors I may have fared better in the standings! Your ‘Lugi frame looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

