Skip to content

On My Path – Intentional Exercise

March 15, 2010

I’ve got 28 weeks to be ready to attack my goal.  It may be the most lead time that anyone on the team has.  My goal in case you have forgotten, is to have a podium finish in a cyclocross race.  Not an easy thing to do in these parts, but none of my teammates challenges are easy either.  The fact that I have teammates, supporters, and all of the followers to be accountable to, I’m sure will only serve to continue to motivate us.

The biggest obstacle standing in my way is this fat little gremlin I have hanging around my waist.  I keep trying to shake this guy and I just can’t get him off my back my waist.  I hit the scales today, and tipped them at 314.5.  Are you kidding me?  That’s 35 lbs heavier than I was last summer.  What the hell am I doing?  This is not a good version of me.  There is a better version of me, just waiting to see the light of day.  I’ve been preparing myself, in my own head anyway, to being my fight.  I’ve got 28 weeks to help find this guy.

So, as I’ve said the biggest thing standing in the way of my goal, is not my legs, it’s not my lack of stamina, it’s not the fact that my bike weigh’s in at 38 lbs, the biggest thing standing in my way is the extra 110 lbs sitting primarily between my neck and my belt, (my triple chin doesn’t really weight that much).  So, I’ll do the math for you, that’s a little under 4lbs. a week.  By all accounts that I can find online, that’s not a feasible goal, and supposedly, I’m just going to set myself up for disappointment.  What do I say to that?  “You’ll see.”  I will be 100lbs lighter.  I will be faster.  I will stand on that podium, covered in mud, sweat, and pride. 

The first actions I will be taking is to reign in my eating habits.  This week:  No extraneous sugars, keep the calorie intake to sub-2000, and most importantly … intentional exercise, everyday.  Being that I have a couple of wee ones running around the house, it’s easy to play with them, or chase them around a bit and feel like I am getting exercise, but From today forward it’s not going to count.  I need to get exercise everyday, intentionally, not incidentally.  I’ll check in this weekend and my goals for the next few weeks as well.  Until then best of luck to my whole team, and big thanks to our sponsors.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

