Skip to content

Wind – 1; Biking Red Rock – 0

March 14, 2010

I have a love/hate relationship with one of the most beautiful bike routes in Las Vegas.  It’s the Red Rock Loop ~ 15 miles round trip, where the first 5 miles are nothing but 4-7ish% grades.  I’ve been looking forward to this ride all week because it’s great to see the improvement week over week and the hill workout is just the kick in the rear I need!  However, this weekend the wind won…something about biking in 20+ mph winds on a narrow road is not my idea of safe or fun.  So, it’s spin biking for me.

I’ve been thoroughly amazed and honored at the responses I’ve received as I’ve been telling my friends and family about being a part of this awesome team.  The first thing most everyone has said is ‘How can I help?’ and ‘I’ll be happy to train with you.’  Trust me, I plan on taking everyone up on their offer!   As far as my training plan, right now, I’m focusing on improving my biking skills/speed, working on jogging/running and resistance/core training – each a few days a week with one day of rest.  I’ll incorporate swimming into the mix at the beginning of May after I have a little better running base.  I’ve been looking at running and cycling events too, but haven’t decided which ones I’ll incorporate into the training plan, when I do, you’ll be the first to know!

Catch you at the next update…C~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    March 15, 2010 5:41 pm

    Good to hear your plan of attack. Red Rock will be there when the wind calms and you will have two weeks of training to see how much you’ve improved which will be even more awesome! Can’t wait to hear bout how u killed it. Good luck!

  2. Robin Oberle permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:43 am

    I love that your love/hate relationship is with the loop itself, and my love/hate relationship is with the road *before* the loop! This week I hope to make it to the entrance to the loop… Woo Hoo!

    Keep it up girl, I’m so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

